Jenz thoughts and feelings

September 25, 2006

The Weekend

Filed under: Home and Family — jenz @ 11:22 am

21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg

Friday night was the youth group disco. It was good although we would have liked more people to have come. Muzz came over early so he was able to look after Daniel freeing me up. Billy and I went to church and I   helped one of the men put up the balloons. Then I set to work in the kitchen, a favourite haunt for me at occasions like this. Much happier working behind the scenes. I was quite pleased with myself too (not meaning to sound proud) as I mostly alone got supper ready. Buttering, jamming and putting cheese on pre-made scones. The leader had made all the scones before hand. Cutting up cakes and slices. Cooking pre-made sausage rolls. Billy meanwhile got the job of operating the camcorder. (Apparently he will need lessons if we ever have another disco. Later upon viewing the footage the leader told me she had got seasick LOL)

Later Muzz and Daniel came over. It was a good evening.

On Saturday I recuperated. I over did it some what and felt totally exhausted. I think mostly because I am not use to working as hard as I had over the previous couple of days. I keep reminding myself however, that I was probably no worse off than the leader herself and she has been working 45 hour weeks in her youth ministry all term and she is a solo mum of one 10 year old boy. I must add too she doesn’t get paid for at least 1/2 of those hours.

Sunday we went to church finally feeling much better. The sermon concentrated on Moses, the Israelites and the trek to the promised land. The minister said that the trek was probably some 500 km. This got Muzz and I thinking. I worked out that if i can walk 2.5 kms in half an hour. So it may have taken 110 hours. If I made that journey it may have taken me 2 weeks around about – what a lot of time of energy those people wasted just because they wouldn’t obey God. Muzz concluded that they must have been fit. It still gives me a buzz when a story from the bible takes hold of Muzz’s interest. His journey is still so early and its encouraging to see him become interested.

Last night I made a start on a poster that I am going to give to the youth group. They don’t it yet. The other problem Billy had with the recording was that the tape was only 1 hour long. Which might have been fine had it not been so rock and rolling. He apparently had to heavy a hand on panning and zooming in and out LOL. So when Muzz arrived at the dance he used his much loved hobby of photography to record the evening on ditigal camera. I have started to edit those photos and print them out in black and white – colour printing costs too much and I plan to paste them on to a big sheet of coloured cardboard and put it in the church hall next weekend. Therefore allowing the other parishioners to see how our disco was.

4.jpgI dont like my photo being taken LOl
10.jpgMuzz and I enjoying a dance. The youth group leader decided we should have a dance together. She took Daniel (whom she adores) and gave us time to dance.

3.jpg1.jpgBilly and Daniel enjoy a dance. Daniel was very happy dancing with his big brother. Most of the rest of the time he tuned out. As a friend said it was a sensory over load. The music, the lights, the decorations and the dancing.

21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg21.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you had lots of fun, what did muzz think of it?

    Comment by Amy — September 25, 2006 @ 1:21 pm | Reply

  2. I thought it was really neat and exciting, with colours and also good experience dor Daniel and Billy, and music needed to be a bit more of a range but only drawback was I had a wee bit of a cold that needed clearing out my ears which didnt help 😦 but although I DID ENJOY THE FOOD! and DRINKS!!!! and Jens dance 😉 she hated teh camera photos uggghhh shy girl are we lol.

    Comment by Murray Whittington — September 25, 2006 @ 3:38 pm | Reply

  3. Sounds like you guys had a great time!

    Comment by Nikkie — September 26, 2006 @ 6:03 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

