Jenz thoughts and feelings

December 1, 2006

Christmas Time Countdown – 24 days til Christmas

Filed under: Christmas time countdown,Home and Family,meme — jenz @ 9:29 am

1.gif

Below are 2 stories for you to check out – they explain what for me is the real meaning of Christmas – be sure to read them – wont you

Dont miss Christmas

The Candy Store

Did you like those 2 true accounts of Christmas? If you did, do you know you can subscribe to this wonderful website and get a children’s sermon by email every week?

Now as promised, to my dear friend Amy, who asked me to reply to this meme last week, here is the Christmas Meme

1.Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

Hot Chocolate

2.Does Santa wrap presents or just put them under the Christmas tree?

Both it depends on how big the present is. If it was like a bike I would probably put a sheet over the top of it.

3. Coloured lights on tree/house or white

coloured lights on the tree

4.Do you hang mistletoe?

no

5.When do you put up your decorations?

well my sons room already looks Christmasy I have given him the big Christmas tree this year for his room as I can just imagine the mess that would be created if it were in the lounge with the explorer (aka Daniel). I plan to get a little Christmas Tree for the kitchen table a bit closer to the 25th.

6.What is your favourite holiday dish (excluding dessert)

I simply love potato salad (we have lots of salads here in New Zealand what with it being Summer time here)

7.Favourite holiday memory as a child?

Probably going up north to a holiday house we had use of. The house was about 100 years old (at the time) and it was out in the country. I loved being there.

8.When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

At the time a lot sooner than I wanted too. I wasnt really a little girl but I grew up in a unchristian home so when I learnt the truth I was sad.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas eve?

I have done in the past but not usually.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

Ornaments that Ive collected over the years. Also some that my children have made over the years. Lights. Nativity scene on the floor.

11. Snow? Love it? or dread it?

Like it but dont get here in the Bay.

12. Can you iceskate?

yes a bit not very good at it

13. Do you remember your favourite gift?

My doll Margaret. I remember getting her well. Almost as if it were yesterday. She was a brides doll. She was propped up in the dining room all the other presents were in the lounge. I think she was probably the beautifulest doll I had ever seen. When I got her, she had a white wedding dress on and she had the most beautiful long black hair. Unfortunately over the years I combed it too much.

14. Whats the most important thing about the holidays for you?

Remembering the real reason for the season. Spending relaxing times with family

15. What is your favourite holiday desert?

Pavlova the New Zealand traditionally desert with strawberries – my mouth is watering at the thought of it

16. What is your favourite holiday tradition?

Going to church on Christmas eve. I noticed that there is a 4pm and a 7pm service at our church this year I think suits us much better. I have taken Billy to a midnight service before but its a bit hard on little children I think.

Last year and just got an invite this morning for this year to go to my sil’s for breakfast. I really really really (got the point A? LOL) like this sil of mine and her family. They are a VERY nice family. So I am hopeing this is going to become a tradition.

17. What tops your tree?

an angel

18. Which do you prefer giving or receiving?

bo – with giving I like to be there to watch when the receiver (and if its a child their parents) opens the present

19. whats your favourite Christmas song?

Im sorry I have 2 and I cant tell you which one I like best

Hark the Herald Angels Sing

Joy to the World

20. Candy canes?

yummmmmmy

6 Comments »

  1. I love the candy cane story…enjoy the season!!

    Comment by Tug — December 1, 2006 @ 3:18 pm | Reply

  2. G’day Jen…Happy December to you…I enjoyed reading your Christmas meme. 🙂

    Comment by kali — December 1, 2006 @ 10:53 pm | Reply

  3. thanks ladies

    Comment by jenz — December 2, 2006 @ 9:34 am | Reply

  4. 1.Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

    near xmas day

    6.What is your favourite holiday dish (excluding dessert)

    mmm bits of everything and xmas ham is my choice

    7.Favourite holiday memory as a child?

    being on the farm where I grew up

    8.When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

    My middle sister was mean to me and told me, when I misbehaved

    9. Do you open a gift on Christmas eve?

    I try not to sneak and open one just for the sake of it, curiosity kills the cat aye!!!

    10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

    anything that appeals to the eye and its childrens christmas and they should decorate it with some adult help, let them enjoy it.

    11. Snow? Love it? or dread it?

    what snow, its summer here be nice to play in snow again but summer melts it too fast.

    12. Can you iceskate?

    never tried it, the ice skating company in HB went bung so sadly never done it…

    13. Do you remember your favourite gift?

    My cowboy suit, that I or somebody accidentally left behind at the farm in the closet 30 years ago

    14. Whats the most important thing about the holidays for you?

    Relaxing times with family and getting my jobs done around the house

    15. What is your favourite holiday desert?

    I definitley agree with below:
    **** Pavlova the New Zealand traditionally desert with strawberries – my mouth is watering at the thought of it ******

    16. What is your favourite holiday tradition?

    start getting feed on xmas day with bacon and eggs and spuds or patties and puddings….at my sisters place

    17. What tops your tree?

    a sharp point (the tip of the tree) that hope fully no one lands on it lol 😉 esp Santa

    18. Which do you prefer giving or receiving?

    giving to my children and see the smile on their faces and to Jen as well, Im too old now….

    19. whats your favourite Christmas song?

    Hark the Herald Angels Sing – in Trans Siberian Orchestra sung by Jewels

    20. Candy canes?

    :((((( cant eat them – Diabetic, if somebody can give me a sugar free candy canes I be happy as larry

    Comment by Murray Whittington — December 4, 2006 @ 3:29 pm | Reply

  5. wooden interior door

    wooden interior door start page

    Trackback by wooden interior door — April 20, 2007 @ 11:27 pm | Reply

  6. gay fingering

    gay fingering moves

    Trackback by gay fingering — April 27, 2007 @ 1:49 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

