Jenz thoughts and feelings

December 5, 2006

Christmas Time Countdown – 20 days til Christmas

Filed under: Christmas time countdown,Home and Family — jenz @ 5:24 pm

We went to playgroup this morning where we made these. playgroup-angel.jpg I found these on the Internet so if you’re interested in making them with your children here is the site.

hgg-3269.jpg

You know how Daniel has loved these cars at playgroup for ages well today he managed to make it move – in fact he had great fun driving it here, there and everywhere – mind though it was in reverse. Yep reverse. Apparently that’s how all the children start driving it. It seems that its easier to use the ball of your foot than the heel. Using the ball of your foot makes it go in reverse though which is fine (and I was very proud of him and he loved it) however, you do have a problem when you back into the wall of chair.

On the way home we popped into a bead shop. They had a offer in the local paper where they would give you a necklace pack to make up for FREE!! I parked the car a bit of a walk away so I wouldn’t have to pay for the parking. As we getting out of the car and as I was putting Daniel into the pushchair a older posh looking lady was walking by. Daniel was a bit unhappy (he was tried as he gets after playgroup) however I thought if hes very tired he would go to sleep on my walk to the shop. Anyway this lady muttered aloud enough for me to hear “Oh hes cold.” Well that got to me, sure there was a bit of a wind but I knew Daniel was warm enough. As we walked past her (as she got into her car) we eyed each other. She couldn’t help herself she muttered something else well that did it. Who is Daniel’s mother???? Whose job is it to look after him???? MINE!!!

I told her what I thought “Hes not cold. Hes tired” and thought several other things to myself. She again muttered but I kept walking. Boy was I MAD ARRRRRRRRRRRR!!

After we had gone to the shop and walked back to the car and as I was putting him into the car I felt his arm and sure enough he was nice and warm. Some people!!!

Anyway that is enough of me ranting onto much brighter subjects:-

5.jpg

Christmas from a Christain Point of View – Part 2

What exactly are the 12 days of Christmas?

They are the 12 days that divide Christmas Day from Epiphany, which is celebrated on January 6th. The Epiphany marks the first appearance of Jesus to the Gentiles who were represented by the 3 Wise Men. Epiphany Eve is called the 12th night it is when the Wise Men arrived in Bethlehem to see the baby Jesus. Epiphany also celebrates the baptism of Jesus by John the Baptist although this did not happen until Jesus was a grown man. It also celebrates Jesus’ first miracle performed in Cana (when He turned water into wine at the wedding).

 

Historically rather than people people receiving all their gifts on Christmas Day they were spread out over the 12 days.

 

2 worthy sites to check out are these 2 – Drennon’s Twelve Days of Christmas and this page. Today’s music is included in these sites.

 

To read more

 

 

Why is Christmas Eve celebrated?

Midnight Mass is held on Christmas Eve and all Jewish holidays start at sundown the evening before.

To read more

 

Who is Santa?

Santa was actually a real person, Saint Nicholas, a minor saint from the 4th century. He was born in a seaport city. When he was young, he went to Palestine and Egypt. He became a bishop upon his return to his homeland. He was sent to prison but released under the rule of Emperor Constantine the Great . After his death he was buried in his church, by the 6th century his shrine there had become well known. He was known for his generosity and kindness towards the poor and unhappy.

 

The common view of Santa and all that is associated with him (the sleigh, the reindeer and the chimney) came from the story “The Night before Christmas” written by Clement Moore in 1822 for his family. This story became VERY popular.

Also between 1863 and 1886 a popular magazine of the time ran a series of engravings by Thomas Nast. From these images came the ideas about Santa’s workshop, Santa reading letters and Santa checking his list.

 

Coca-Cola also played a role in the popularisation of Santa.

 

The red and white suit actually were the colours of the traditional bishop’s robes which Saint Nicholas would have wore.

To read more

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments »

  1. I cannot stand it when someone does that to me. It is so rude to try to tell you, the Mother, what your own child needs.

    Thanks for all the info. about Christmas and Santa – I’m getting so excited for the upcoming Holiday!!

    Comment by Tanya — December 5, 2006 @ 6:39 pm | Reply

  2. Good on ya!!!

    some people have some nerve to say cheeky things and any way DJ is very well looked after I must say and I wonder if I will get backup like that if somebody said something similar to me will “SupaJen” be backing me up or wot???

    Be interesting to know aye…

    Well done

    Comment by Murray Whittington — December 5, 2006 @ 8:01 pm | Reply

  3. I just hate it when people interfere!!!! I too would not have kept quiet! Good on You!!!! Back to those cars, they look like the ones they have here in our shopping centres – transformed into a trolley – When my kids were younger they used to scream and perform for me to hire one each time we went to the mall!!!! Very nice concept, but try shopping when you have a toddler climbing in and out of the damn thing – lol

    Anyway’s I hope you have a great day!~

    Comment by NMOTB — December 5, 2006 @ 10:29 pm | Reply

  4. NMOTB I get a look on DJ’s face for me to give him a ride in one of those cars with radios going etc, and is a good idea but for NZ$2.00 is a bit expensive if they had it for NZD$1.00 be much better and more worth while.

    I must say he loves cars and anything with wheels gives him a kick in excitement.

    Comment by Murray Whittington — December 6, 2006 @ 11:58 am | Reply

  5. love your Christmas countdown 🙂

    it was so rude of that woman – sorry to hear.

    Comment by Janice (5 Minutes for Mom) — December 6, 2006 @ 9:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

